Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

England vs Afghanistan ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 Match: Preview

In the T20 World Cup, the second match of the Super-12 round will be played between England and Afghanistan at the WACA Ground in Perth on Saturday. In this Group-1 match, on paper, England’s team looks more powerful. However, the Afghanistan team can make any opponent a victim of upset on their day.

Both teams are facing each other in the T20 format after 6 years. Before this, the last match between them was in 2016. In this story, we will know the weather condition, pitch report, and possible playing 11 of both teams. First, let’s look at the performance of English batsmen after the last World Cup-

afghanistan 3 getty
Credit- Getty Images

England vs Afghanistan: England got a big setback before the start of the tournament

The England team suffered a major setback on the bowling front before the start of the World Cup. The leading wicket-taker for the English team since the last T20 World Cup, fast bowler Reece Topley has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury. He was bowling well in the new ball as well as in the death overs.

Liam Livingston’s injury in batting is also a cause for concern. If he becomes fit, he can be considered over Harry Brooke in the playing 11.

Gurbaz’s injury will be monitored

Afghanistan’s team is also struggling with the problem of injury. The team’s star batsman Rahmanullah Gurbaz was injured on the ball of Shaheen Shah Afridi during the practice match against Pakistan. The ball hit his toe. The good news is that Gurjab’s thumb is not broken. However, the final decision on whether they will play in the match will be taken an hour before the match. Now Afghanistan’s top-3 scorer

Now it’s the turn to possibly play 11 of both teams…

England: Jos Buttler (captain), Alex Hales, David Malan, Ben Stokes, Liam Livingston, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Darwish Rasuli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (Captain), Ajmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Fazlhaq Farooqui.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.