Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

ICC T20 World Cup Sri Lanka vs UAE: Meiyappan Scored The First Hat Trick Of This World Cup

The Sri Lankan team, which lost the first match in the T20 World Cup qualifier round, has made a strong comeback. Sri Lanka beat UAE by 79 runs. Batting first after losing the toss, Sri Lanka scored 152 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets.

Pathum Nishanka played the highest innings of 74 runs. At the same time, Dhananjay de Silva scored 33 runs. In reply, the UAE team was all out for 73 runs in 17.1 overs. Dushmantha and Hasranga took three wickets each.

sri lanka 2 getty
Credit- Getty Images

Meiyappan scored the first hat trick of this World Cup

Earlier, during Sri Lanka’s innings, UAE’s Indian-origin spinner Karthik Meiyappan scored a hat-trick. He took the wickets of Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, and Dasun Shanaka in the fourth, fifth, and sixth balls of the 15th over of the Sri Lankan innings. This is the first hat trick of this World Cup. At the same time, this is the fifth hat-trick in the Overall T20 World Cup.

Sri Lanka’s wickets fell like this

  • First: Sri Lanka’s first wicket fell for 42 runs. Kushal Mendis was dismissed LBW off Aryan Lakra after scoring 18 runs.
  • Second: Sri Lanka’s second wicket fell for 92 runs. De Silva was run out after scoring 33 runs.
  • Third: Sri Lanka’s third wicket fell for 117 runs. Bhanuka Rajapaksa was run out after scoring 5 runs.
  • Fourth: Sri Lanka’s fourth wicket fell for 117 runs. Charit Ashlanka was dismissed without a run.
  • Fifth: The fifth wicket fell on the score of 117 runs. Dasun Shanaka was bowled by Meiyapp.
  • Sixth: Vanandu Hasaranga was dismissed by Afzal Khan. The team scored 120 runs for 6 wickets.
  • Seventh: Chamika Karunaratne was dismissed by Zahoor Khan. Score 150 runs for 7 wickets.
  • Eighth: Pathum Nishanka scored 74 runs off Zahoor Khan’s delivery.

Playing XI of both the teams

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nisanka, Kushal Mendis, D D Silva, Charit Ashlanka, B Rajapakse, D Shanaka (Captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Mahesh Teeksha, Dushmantha Chamera, Pramod Madushan.

UAE: Wasim Muhammad, CP Rizwan (Captain), Aryan Lakra, V Arvind, Chirag Suri, Basil Hameed, Kashif Dawood, Ayan Afzal Khan, K Meiyappan, Junaid Siddiqui, Zahoor Khan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.