Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

Indian Women’s Cricket Team: The Winner of Women’s Asia Cup 2022

India has won the Women’s Asia Cup title for the seventh time. In the final match played on Saturday, the Indian women’s team defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first. In front of the best performance of the Indian bowlers, the Sri Lankan team could only manage 65 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 9 wickets.

Inoka Runvera scored the highest 18 runs. Renuka Singh Thakur took three wickets for India. Rajeshwari Gaywad and Sneh Rana took two wickets each.

In reply, India achieved the target in 8.3 overs, making 71 runs for the loss of two wickets. Smriti Mandhana scored a six to win the title for Team India. Mandhana remained unbeaten on 51 off 25 balls. He hit 6 fours and 3 sixes. His strike rate was 204. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur remained unbeaten with Mandhana scoring 11 runs.

ind w 1 getty 3
Credit- Getty Images

Indian Women’s Cricket Team: Won 5th final over Sri Lanka

Team India won the 5th final match against Sri Lanka in the history of the Asia Cup. So far 5 finals have been played between the two teams. Team India has won all these. The Indian team reached the final for the eighth time in a row.

Defeated Sri Lanka in the final after 14 years
India defeated Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup after 14 years. Earlier in 2008, the two had a face-off.

Playing 11 of both the teams

India: Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Jemima Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Hemlata, Renuka Thakur, Rajeshwari Gaikwad.

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (Captain), Anoushka Sanjeevani, Harshita Samaravikrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Hasini Perera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Kavisha Dilhari, Malsha Shahani, Sugandhika Kumari, Inoka Runvera, Achini Kulsuraiah.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.