Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

South Africa Tour Of India 2nd T20: India Won Maiden T20 Series At Home Against SA

Team India defeated South Africa by 16 runs in a high-scoring match to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. For the first time, the Indian team has managed to win a T20 series in India against South Africa. The first T20 series between the two was played in India in 2015. Batting first after losing the toss, India scored 237 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 3 wickets.

In reply, South Africa also put in full force, but the team could only score 221 runs for 3 wickets. The batsmen dominated this match. KL Rahul (57), Rohit Sharma (43), Suryakumar Yadav (61), and Virat Kohli (49) batted brilliantly for India. At the same time, David Miller scored a brilliant century for South Africa and scored an unbeaten 106. Quinton de Kock also remained unbeaten on 69.

kl rahul 2 getty
Credit- Getty Images

South Africa Tour Of India 2nd T20: Team India was not able to win for 7 years

With this victory, the Indian team won the T20 series against South Africa for the first time at their home. The shortest format of the cricket series was played between the two teams for the first time in 2015 and in which Team India had to face a 0-2 defeat.

After this, the T20 series held in 2019 was tied at 1-1. At the same time, the series was also played in June this year and this series was also tied at 2-2. That is, in the last 7 years, there were 3 T20 series between the two teams in India and not even once did Team India win.

South Africa Tour Of India 2nd T20: The first match was also won by India

In the first match, South Africa was defeated by 8 wickets. India restricted South Africa’s innings to a score of 106 for eight in 20 overs on the back of a brilliant performance by the fast bowlers. Arshdeep Singh took three, and Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel took two wickets each. A breakthrough went to Axar Patel.

After this, the Indian team achieved the target by scoring 110 runs for 2 wickets in 16.4 overs. In the beginning, the African team gave 2 big setbacks to Team India. Captain Rohit Sharma returned to the pavilion without opening the account. At the same time, only 3 runs came off 9 balls from Virat Kohli’s bat. Rohit’s wicket was taken by Rabada and Kohli’s wicket was taken by Nortya.

Suryakumar Yadav and KL Rahul took over the Indian innings after two early wickets. Surya scored 50 runs in 33 balls while batting with a bang. During this, his strike rate was 151. At the same time, 51 runs also came off KL Rahul’s bat. He faced 56 balls.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.