Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

The 1st Season Of Women’s IPL In March 2023: Format Of Tournament

The wait for the Women’s IPL ie Women’s Indian Premier League is over. BCCI will organize this tournament in 2023. This tournament will be organized just after the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa on 26 February.

The first season of the Women’s IPL will be played at 2 venues. Each team will have 18 players in this mega event of 22 matches. At the same time, the number of foreign players has been kept at 6. Not more than five foreign players will be part of the playing XI.

Women ipl crictrackercom

Matches will be held in a Caravan format

Women’s IPL can be in Caravan format. Caravan format i.e. all the matches in the same city will be played there. Then from there, sari teams will leave for another city. IPL happened in a similar way in 2021 during Kovid. When IPL teams went to UAE. All the matches of the tournament will be held at 2 venues. The first half will be played at one venue and the second half at another venue.

Procedure of Auction

In women’s IPL, BCCI will sell five teams. Although men used to bid for a city like in IPL. The BCCI is looking at two plans. First, the team should be sold in six zones of the country. Several cities will be selected from each zone like North Zone to Dharamsala/Jammu, West to Pune/Rajkot, Central to Indore/Nagpur/Raipur, East to Ranchi/Cuttack, South to Kochi/Visakhapatnam and North East Zone to Guwahati.

The second plan is to sell the teams, but there will be no home base. The matches will be held in Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, and Mumbai. The plan for the BCCI Women’s IPL will be put up at the next week’s AGM and the decision will be taken by the BCCI officials along with the IPL Governing Council chairman.

The top team will get a place in the final

The Women’s IPL will be played in the format. In this, each team will play 2 matches against each other in the league stage. The team that tops the table in the league stage will directly qualify for the final.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.