Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

Women’s Asia Cup T20 2022 Winners List

A women’s one-day international and a 20-over international cricket event are called the Asian Cricket Council Women’s Asia Cup. It was founded in 2004. It takes place every two years. The Women’s Asia Cup is the only women’s cricket championship on a continental level, and the victor takes the title of Asia’s champion for two years. The first four competitions used the ODI format, and from then on, all Asia Cups used the T20I format. Cricket teams compete in the competition. Check Women’s Asia Cup T20 2022 Winners List.

In Sri Lanka in 2004, the first Women’s Asia Cup in the ODI format was played. There were only two teams in the edition: Sri Lanka Women and India Women. At the Kandy Cricket Club and Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, five ODI matches were played.

Women's Asia Cup T20 2022 Winners List

Women’s Asia Cup T20 2022 Winners List

2004ODIIndiaSri Lanka
2005-06ODIIndiaSri Lanka
2006ODIIndiaSri Lanka
2008ODIIndiaSri Lanka
2016T20I IndiaPakistan
2018T20I BangladeshIndia

The Women’s Asia Cup, which was hosted in Pakistan in 2005–06, witnessed an increase of one team as Pakistan Women joined Sri Lanka Women and India Women as the third team to compete.

Another strong performance by India saw them easily overcome Pakistan and Sri Lanka twice in the league stage before overcoming Sri Lanka in the championship match.

ALSO CHECK: Women’s Asia Cup 2022 All Team Squads Are Also Announced

Intriguingly, India lost only six wickets overall in the five matches they played throughout the tournament, demonstrating the team’s dominance in the competition.

Bangladesh participated in the Women’s Asia Cup 2008 for the first time, however that did not stop India from reasserting its dominance and winning its fourth championship. Once more, India Women defeated Sri Lanka Women in the championship match by a score of 177 runs.

The competition resumed in 2012 with eight teams vying for the trophy following a four-year gap. Making their debuts were China, Hong Kong, Nepal, and Thailand. The Women’s Asia Cup was the first to be played in the T20I format.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.