Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

History Of Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CWF) and Commonwealth Games Australia on 5 October announced the games to be included in the 2026 Commonwealth Games. The Games will comprise 26 events spanning a total of 20 sports, including 9 para-sports. Wrestling has not found a place in these games.

This is the first time since 2010 that wrestling has not found a place in the CWG Games. Overall, this is only the fourth time in the 92-year history of the Commonwealth Games, which began in 1930, that wrestling has been out of the Commonwealth Games.

Wrestling was not included in the Commonwealth Games only three times – 1990 Auckland, 1998 Kuala Lumpur, and 2006 Melbourne.

shooting mairaj 9 getty 1
Credit- Getty Images

History Of Commonwealth Games: started 92 years ago

  • The CWG consists of countries that were once part of the British Empire.
  • The idea of ​​CWG was first given in 1891.
  • The first CWGs were held in Hamilton, New Zealand in 1930.
  • Since then CWG has been organized every 4 years.
  • From 1930 to 1950 these games were organized under the name of British Empire Games.
  • From 1954 to 1966, these games were called the British Empire and Commonwealth Games.
  • In 1970 and 1974 these games were held under the name of the British Commonwealth Games.
  • For the first time in 1978, these games were organized under the name of Commonwealth Games.
  • CWG was not held twice in 1942 and 1946, because of the Second World War.
  • The Commonwealth of Nations has 56 members, but currently, 72 countries participate in the Commonwealth Games, as some of the Dependent Territories participate under their own flag.
  • There have been 22 CWGs so far. The 2026 CWG will take place in Victoria, Australia.

India has participated in 18 Commonwealth Games out of 22 held so far

  • India participated in these games for the first time in 1934 from London CWG.
  • India has been a part of all CWGs except four times (1930, 1950, 1962, 1986).
  • India hosted the CWG only once in 2010, it was in Delhi.
  • India is at number four for most medals in CWG with 564 medals.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.