Latest Sports News, Web Stories, Wiki and Biography

Procedure for the inclusion of sports in the Commonwealth Games

India won a total of 22 gold medals in the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Of these, 6, that is, every fourth gold medal was found in wrestling. One of our strongest sports is out in the next Commonwealth Games. These games are to be held in Victoria, Australia in 2026.

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CWF) and Commonwealth Games Australia 5 October announced the games to be included in the 2026 Commonwealth Games. The Games will comprise 26 events spanning a total of 20 sports, including 9 para-sports. Wrestling has not found a place in these games.

This is the first time since 2010 that wrestling has not found a place in the CWG Games. Overall, this is only the fourth time in the 92-year history of the Commonwealth Games, which began in 1930, that wrestling has been out of the Commonwealth Games.

Wrestling was not included in the Commonwealth Games only three times – 1990 Auckland, 1998 Kuala Lumpur, and 2006 Melbourne.

Also Read
cwg 4 getty
credit- getty images

Procedure for the inclusion of sports in the Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the governing body of the Commonwealth Games. It is the CGF that recognizes and approves sports to be included in the Commonwealth.

According to the CGF Charter, it is necessary to include at least 20 core and para-sports in every Commonwealth Games.

CGF has made three categories for inclusion in the Commonwealth Games.

Core Sports: Sports and Para sports are required to be included in every Commonwealth Games. Para sports were included in the Commonwealth Games as core sports for the first time since 2002.

Optional Sports: The host country can include some sports as optional sports.

Recognized Sports: Recognized sports are those sports that have been approved by CGF, but they need to be developed further before being included in CWG.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.